Faculty

Center for Food Safety Faculty


Francisco Diez-Gonzalez Director and Professor
Center for Food Safety
Hendrik C Den Bakker Assistant Professor
Center for Food Safety
Xiangyu Deng Associate Professor
Center for Food Safety
Govindaraj Dev Kumar Assistant Professor
Center for Food Safety
Malak A. Esseili Assistant Professor
Center for Food Safety
Issmat I Kassem Assistant Professor
Center for Food Safety
Ynes Rosa Ortega Associate Professor
Center for Food Safety

Larry Beuchat

Professor Emeritus
Center for Food Safety

lbeuchat@uga.edu

770-412-4740

UGA Courtesy Faculty


Todd Riley Callaway Associate Professor
Animal & Dairy Science
Laurel L Dunn Extension Coordinator and Assistant Professor
Food Science & Technology
Mussie Habteselassie Associate Professor of Soil Microbiology
Crop & Soil Sciences
Yen-Con Hung Koehler-Ayres Professor
Food Science & Technology
Abhinav Mishra Assistant Professor
Food Science & Technology

Ramaraja Ramasamy

University of Georgia
Franklin College
Dept. Chemistry
Professor
Office Phone: (706) 542-4101
E-Mail: rama@uga.edu

Nikki Shariat

University of Georgia
Dept. of Population Health
Assistant Professor
Office Phone: (706) 542-7368
E-Mail: nikki.shariat@uga.edu

Manpreet Singh Department Head and Professor
Food Science & Technology

Mary Alice Smith

University of Georgia
Regenerative Bioscience Center (RBC)
Dept. Environmental Science
Professor
Office Phone: (706) 542-1599
E-Mail: masmith@uga.edu

Christine Szymanski

University of Georgia
Dept. of Microbiology
Professor
Office Phone: (706) 542-4439
E-Mail: cszymans@uga.edu

Harshavardha Thippareddi John Bekkers Professor in Poultry Science
Poultry Science

Jia-Sheng Wang

University of Georgia
Public Health
Dept. Environmental Health Science
Professor, Department head
Office Phone: (706) 542-7121
E-Mail: jswang@uga.edu

Yiping Zhao

University of Georgia
Dept. Physics and Astronomy
Professor, Director Nanoscale Science and Engineering Center
Office Phone: (706) 542-7792
E-Mail: zhaoy@physast.uga.edu

Adjunct Faculty


Jennifer Cannon

Ph.D., University of North Carolina
E-Mail: flb8@cdc.gov

Lee Katz

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Enteric Diseases Laboratory Branch
Bioinformatician 
E-Mail: gzu2@cdc.gov

Juan S. Leon

Emory University
Hubert Department of Global Health
Rollins School of Public Health
Associate Professor
E-Mail: juan.leon@emory.edu

Arthur Liang

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Senior Advisor for Food Safety
Dept. Food Safety Office
Former Director
E-Mail: Apl@cdc.gov

Michael J. Rothrock Jr.

United States Department of Agriculture
Egg Safety & Quality Research 
Dept. Microbiology
Office Phone: (706) 546-3072
E-Mail: michael.rothrock@ars.usda.gov

Jorge Vidal

University of Mississippi Medical Center
Microbiology and Immunology
Associate Professor
Office Phone:(601) 984-1711
E-Mail: jvidal@umc.edu